CHRISTIANITY · INSPIRATIONAL · LIFE

When Waiting Seems Like Forever

person-1031023_1920
Image from Pixabay.com

I despise waiting. All my life it’s the one thing I neglect. I cannot sit in one place for more than five minutes. I don’t want to be stuck in a moment when I don’t know the status of who or what I am waiting for: Is she near? How many days do I need to count? When is that thing going to arrive?

Last week, my family and I celebrated Mother’s Day and my aunts and cousins birthday in Batangas, a southwestern province in Luzon, Philippines. We decided to take a trip to the beach for a change, since we seldom go out.

Of course we had fun. The place was awesome! We had lots of food on our table. My grandfather grilled pork, chicken and hotdogs while my aunt did the photographer’s job. I sliced the cakes and my cousins indulged a bite. My father jumped into the cool waters and as he swam up, I saw a wide smile on his face. That was the first time I witnessed my dad having fun in the waters, and that was the time I found out he knew how to swim.

As I look at the blue horizon where the sky meets the sea, I couldn’t help but thank God for the chance, the time, that He had blessed us to be together in a very special occasion. Everyone was having the best moment of their lives. I also enjoyed swimming with my cousins. We even raced but of course, I lost. 😁

My aunt hired a driver to drop off and pick us up at the location. I did not understand why he had to leave us because I always know that when you hire a transportation service, the driver will be with you until he drops you off home. When it was time to go home, we started contacting our driver. We found out he was stuck somewhere so we waited. That was around 5 PM.

At 6 PM, my father and my grandfathers were losing their temper. We have been waiting for quite a while and they wanted to go home. We were told by the driver that the way he went through was really traffic.

At 7 PM, everyone was losing it. My aunts were exchanging their disappointments. My father kept on expressing his anger, my grandparents were quiet and my cousins were listening. We have been waiting for three hours and it’s not easy. I sat at one corner and took a deep breath. I did that because I could feel my blood rising as well and I knew God wouldn’t want me to be angry and join my family in their ranting. I prayed for patience and tried to mediate between everyone. I calmly told them that blaming won’t help us, that we should really be thinking about a solution rather than thinking about the problem.

My cousins suggested we eat dinner so everyone could calm down, so we did. There’s one house that welcomed us and my aunts cooked our leftover, uncooked pork and chicken. There were still rice and pasta. After dinner, everyone calmed down.

Then, my family members started talking to the locals. I saw my mom having a conversation with a mother who owns a sari-sari store. My father was busy explaining our situation to three middle-aged men. I, in fact, got to meet a little girl whose name is Bless.

At 8 PM, my aunts met a local who knew someone who can drive us to Cavite. They accompanied him and when they came back, we heard the good news: We found a driver and he knew a shortcut so we won’t be stuck in traffic!

That night, I realized that God showed me a different side of waiting. God used our waiting time to talk to locals, get to know them, be inspired by them and just be still and watch the time does its tick tocking. It’s not that annoying at all!

Aside from that, He reminded me that He’s always and forever faithful. We would’ve spent our night in Batangas but God has sent someone to bring us back home. While waiting, I was really telling God I know He would do something amazing that night and yes, He did. He really did. And guess what? I am beyond amazed. I was in awe and very much grateful.

I think patience is a rare characteristic of a person. In this fast-paced world where high-technology is dominating, we always want instant results. We always want to know the answer. We always want to receive something in a snap. We forget that God has His own watch. He does not want us to be desperate for immediacy. Sometimes, He wants us to “be still and know that He is God” (Psalms 46:10). We only need to believe that “He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11).

Remember, when waiting seems like forever, we just need to be still. Sit down. Look at things. Observe what happens to something. There’s nothing wrong in being in a place for minutes, hours or days. Even though we don’t know what’s up ahead of us or what will happen next, we can be sure that God is already there. Isaiah 45:2 says, “I will go before you and make the rough places smooth; I will shatter the doors of bronze and cut through their iron bars.” He’s just preparing the way for us just so when we’re ready, we can run our way to Him with all smiles on our faces.

The LORD is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” (Deuteronomy 31:8)

Share your thoughts on this:

