CHRISTIANITY · INSPIRATIONAL · LIFE

On Dry Land

 

landscape-731472_1920
Photo from pixabay.com

Our spiritual walk could be compared to the weather in the Philippines: Wet and dry. If you’re a new Christian, you’ll experience these seasons shifting from time to time. There are moments when we are on fire and there are times when there’s no flame at all. There are times when we always want to read the Scripture and there are times when we don’t feel like doing so. There are times when we want to sing worship songs so loud and there are times when we can’t even open our mouths and raise our hands. And let me tell you this: Being in a dry situation or drought as some call it, is normal.

I experienced drought in my spiritual life when I was a new Christian and it might be surprising to say that I once again experienced it just months ago. Since December last year, I did not touch my Bible, did not listen to any worship songs, I did not go to my life group and I did not even attend Sunday services. I spent my time watching TV series and most of the time sleeping. I was not aware that I was actually letting something grow in my heart: a ball of disbelief and a sprout of ungodly behavior. I began to seek worldly things and my heart wanted something more than God. As saddening as it can be, I found it so hard to believe in Him. To look up to God when the situation was not in my favor.
Since those months were probably the loneliest, I’ve come up with this blog to share how I overcame it and to help those who experience the same today. I hope that through this, you might be able to bounce back by God’s grace.

HOW DROUGHT STARTED

When God helped me get through that season, I was so curious that I traced the cause. I have found out that it started with me being so busy with my work that I lost the time to spend with God. Whenever I got home, I’d have my dinner and then sleep. Before I sleep, though, I tried to pray but then it always leads me saying amen tomorrow morning. If you’re experiencing drought, ask yourself what led you to that situation. Is it also because of busyness? Are you spending more time with things other than God?

HOW TO AVOID IT

While this season is normal, you can’t make it as an excuse to take a break from everything spiritual. When you enjoy worshiping God and doing His will right now, do not let anything snatch your mind and heart from continuing your duty as a servant of God. Do not let your work or your study hinder you from reading the Word and praying to Him, because a one day skip can lead to a year of drought. That was what happened to me and I’m praying it won’t happen again.

HOW TO BE HEALTHY SPIRITUALLY

When you want to be fit and healthy, you need to discipline yourself by doing regular exercise and eating healthy food. It’s the same thing with our spiritual life. Being healthy is all about guarding our Spiritual Discipline.

So, how do we do that? Here are some of the ways:

1. Pray Unceasingly

Pray without ceasing (1 Thessalonians 5:17). Even if you don’t feel like doing it, just say everything you feel to God. It could be something like, “Dear Lord, I am sorry that I couldn’t pray properly but I hope through this I can still praise you.”

During those seven months, I used to ask God to get me out of that situation. Not long after, He answered me. I remembered Matthew 21:22. It says, “And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith”. Just have faith and pray. It can change everything.

2. Break Up With The World

Aside from isolating myself from the activities that draw me closer to God, I embraced what I thought was okay. Mostly, it’s paying attention to what the world had said. But that was what pushed me down to the pit. The desires of my flesh were always gratified. I spent money like there’s no tomorrow. I spent my time with trivial things. My life during those seven months was work and home. Those were the days I thought I was fine without my God and those were the days that I didn’t realize my hopes and faith were already slipping.

If you want to be consistent with your walk with God, you have to remember that you should not love the world or the things in the world (1 John 2:15). You should learn to say NO to the people who convince you to eat this or drink that when you have enough provision for that day. You should not read, watch and listen to the things that may distort your belief. We all should be aware of our surroundings, especially today that society encourages what God discourages.

3. Learn About The Bible

My biggest mistake was that I became ignorant with the Word. I did not take the practice of reading it too seriously. The Bible is God’s way of communicating with us and because I shut it down, my mind was diverted and I was quick to judge and I fell into temptation most of the time. On our spiritual walk with God, it’s a vital part to read and meditate on it (Joshua 1:8) so that we would know God’s plans for our lives.

4. Be With The People Who Love God

Bad company ruins good morals (1 Corinthians 15:33). If we don’t want to be redirected to the crooked path, we should be spending some of our time with the people who love God. I say who love God because when a person truly loves Him, it will be difficult for her to disobey Him. What breaks God’s heart will also break the heart of believer and lover of Christ.

I am not saying we should avoid nonbelievers. Of course, it’s not what God wants. What I meant to say is we can be with them but let’s guard our minds and hearts not to be influenced by them. Overcome their evil thoughts with your good ones (Romans 12:21). Even if you’re alone, you can be the one to influence them. Pray to God for boldness and patience.

What really helped me get over that season in my life aside from God, was talking to my good friend who loves and believes in God. I remember going to her house and telling her that I couldn’t live like that anymore. It’s really hard to wake up in the morning without hope in my heart. I needed to feel God’s presence again, to be able to close our distance. She let me cry my heart out and comforted me. I remember her telling me that maybe God wanted me to realize something through those days and I guess this is what it was. And my friend also told me that someday, I could use my experience to be a testimony and help others who are going through the same and this is why you’re reading this blog.

Please take note that this is what worked for me. Some Christians may suggest that when you’re in that season, you just have to let it pass. But I believe it will never pass unless you do something about it. And before it could take you forever to get over it, I suggest you work on it now.

Now that I’ve already bounced back from those dark days, I can’t help but be amazed on how God sustains me and my family, not just with financial but with strength as well. I love how I can now feel His peace in my heart. I’m thankful that I can still smile despite the challenges in my life. And my heart’s prayer is for you to feel that as well.

Have a wonderful day!

One thought on “On Dry Land

Share your thoughts on this:

